Mentoring Committee

Chair – Cindy Johnson ([email protected])

 Are you interested in growing as a math teacher and helping someone else improve their craft?  Consider getting involved in one of the most important and lost aspects to becoming a great teacher: mentoring.  Mentors make a huge impact in the lives of teachers, both novice and veteran.   OCTM wants to help connect math teachers across Oklahoma in meaningful collaboration and mentorship.  Mentorship could entail online collaboration, networking, face-to-face meetings, or even simply collaboration via email or virtual conversations. 

Travel Grant Committee

Chair – Darlinda Cassel ([email protected])

This grant will be awarded to current members of OCTM for the purpose of attending the NCTM National or a NCTM Regional Conference.  The money can be put towards registration, lodging and travel.  The amount will not exceed $750 per applicant. 

Committee responsibilities are to evaluate travel grant requests and choose recipients. This happens once a year. Committee will meet via conference call and/or e-mail in order to make final selection of recipients. The whole process should not take longer than 1-2 hours.

Professional Development Committee

Chair – Telannia Norfar ([email protected])

Provides professional learning that is aligned with Oklahoma math standards.  Resources and professional development opportunities actively engage all members of the organization and their appropriate school communities in continuous professional growth designed to increase the success of all students. Teachers will have opportunities to increase knowledge, improve performance, and enhance professional satisfaction. The committee will hold collaborative meetings at least four times a year in order to formulate professional development opportunities for OCTM members and the entire Oklahoma math community. 

Public Relations Committee

Chair –  Shelli Temple ([email protected])

Are you interested in spreading the word about the great things that OCTM does for the State? Are you interested in blogging or posting on social media about OCTM events? Do you want to help redesign and update our Website? If so, then the Public Relations committee is just for you. This committee will be made up of the Public Relations Chair and other members willing to help spread the word. We will meet 2-3 times throughout the year electronically and once in person at the annual conference. Sign up today to help make all the wonderful things OCTM has to offer accessible to the public. 

Conference Committee

Co-Chairs - Cynthia Bothwell-Lead ([email protected]) and Cindy Johnson ([email protected])                                                     

The conference committee will be made up of Conference Chair, Treasurer, Membership, Vendor Chair, Program Chair along with other members of OCTM who would be willing to help plan the conference or help out the day of the conference for set up and clean up.  We will meet 4-5 times in the fall and spring electronically and in person leading up to the conference. 

Awards Committee

Chair – Annetta Hackler ([email protected])

Do you think that Oklahoma has the greatest mathematics teachers?  Well, so do we.  This committee will seek out opportunities for our Oklahoma Math Educators to be recognized locally, at the state level, and nationally.  Once possible awards are identified and announced, the committee will seek out other educators to assist nominees with the process.  Examples: National Board Certification, MAA OK/Arkansas Teacher of the Year and PAEMST.